When I was in my weekly support group. I saw a great mental health tool. It was a busy box. Basically, it’s a box filled with things to do to help distract you when your symptoms are at their worst, or whenever you need to get out of your head for a few minutes.

I am strapped for cash so I put together a busy box that was under $20. I also decided to share it with you.

First, I bought a gift box at Target for about $2 – $3.

IMG_3755.JPG

Then I filled it with few things that I know would help distract me, if I ever needed distracting.

 

FullSizeRender 35
Rocks (97 cents) The colors are calming and I can stack them lol
FullSizeRender 38
I put some therapeutic coloring pages in my box. I received the coloring book from a friend, but you can print off coloring pages like this one for free online.
IMG_1321
I got some silly putty from the toy section at Target for $3.
IMG_2046
I got this bowl at Target for ~ $1.50. I will use it to hold water for my watercolor paints.
IMG_2426
Some hard candy to chew on to help elevate my mood ($1.50)
IMG_4129
Some pens to write or draw with ($1.00).
IMG_4625
~$1.37
IMG_7461
~ 97 cents
IMG_8307
~ $1.50
IMG_9073
~ $2.50 (I ended up cutting the sheets in half to fit in my box)
IMG_9170
~ 97 cents. I love the smell of lilacs so I added it.

I wrote the contents on the box’s lid so I know what to get if I ever run out of things to it.

FullSizeRender 36.jpg

So, here is the final product.

FullSizeRender 37.jpg

I hope you try it, and if you like it let me know! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

