Haiku 01
expressions of face
happy sad angry frown shy
face is the index

~ IBMC

 

I am not antisocial, but I might as well be. I am deplorable with social interaction. I can’t tell if acquaintances are smiling cause they are happy to see me or because it’s the socially conventional way to interact with a relative stranger. Sadly, with social media, I have to deal with the awkward conversations in my own bedroom. Late at night I keep an eye on those little green dots. If a dot appears that I don’t want to talk to, I quickly log out.

I wish I had an index. A manual that explained all human behaviors and how to properly deflect the awkward unpleasant interactions. Like, it would be so useful when I want to eat a sandwich and not talk about someone’s bunion and old cat that pees on the sofa. I hate it when Mrs. Velman walks by me, spotting my face behind my laptop screen at Panera. First, she’ll light up, saying my name real loud, and then, take the liberty to sit down across from me. I cringe inside, with a forced smile on my face, as she pelts me with weird knowledge about her old cat and her last trip to the pediatrist. I mean, I like old people, I just don’t like to talk to them about gross things when I am eating.

IBMC-4:10

3 thoughts on “Awkward in A Modern World

Leave a Reply

