Today, publish a post you’d like your ideal reader to see, and include a new-to-you element.

Here’s how:

1. First, brainstorm the kind of person you hope will read your blog. What do you want to say to them?

2. Next, start your new post by clicking on the button below. Remember to include a media element (an image, a video embed, etc.) you haven’t experimented with yet.

3. Finally, give your post a few tags, including bloggingfundamentals, and publish it.” ~Michelle W., Blogger University

[This is the first post to a series of two posts on this topic]

It took me a few days to really think about this post. I am not sure if I had thought about this long enough yet, but I would like to get it done already, to be quite frank.

Who is my audience? Who do I want to target? Who will I appeal to most?

I do not like the idea of changing my vision, even by a little, to suit an audience. However, if I want this blog to go far at all, I need to start thinking about my blog from an outsider’s perspective.

  1. Who has liked my blog posts so far? Family, friends, other creative writers, and a few photographers, so, I appeal to photographers and writers
  2. Where do I ultimately want this blog to go? As far as it can go, I guess, I love the idea of writing for a living, or at least a source of income. The answer to my question is: far; I want my blog to get big and bring in revenue.
  3. Is there a certain demographic, besides fellow creatives, that I want to tap into? Yeah, sure, I would like to reach young adults, 21-35; midwestern creatives; and dreamers. This is still a work in progress, so, I will need to narrow this down a little better or at least find a way to incorporate these things well together. 

For now, I am trying to target a large crowd of young midwestern creatives, who enjoy dreaming. 

Well, here I go, I hope this next post will be all right. Wish me luck! 🙂

Leave a Reply

